Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Moonflower1
      Participant

This is the first time I have reached out and sort help for what is happening to me. I am in a long term relationship and for the majority of that time I have been emotionally and sexually abused. I have been speaking to a counsellor for about 3 months now and she is the only person who knows what is happening to me. She has been gently encouraging me to leave the relationship and I know that I should but I can’t seem to make the break. Some days I feel strong and think I’ll do this but then think I can’t. I am terrified of what my abuser will do if I leave. A few months ago after an abusive outburst I told him that I though it would be better if we parted. His reaction to this was to cut up all my bank cards, start throwing things out of the kitchen cupboards at me, and knocking the ironing board across the kitchen. He had his face really close to mind and was scream b**** at me. This was all happening in front of our small daughter. He will them blame me saying its my fault she’s upset!

The main thing we argue about is sex. He says he needs/wants sex a lot and gets grumpy/angry if I do not ‘provide’ it. He very rarely instigates sex he waits for me to do that and if I don’t he will get angry with me.
      I instigated sex on Friday night as I knew it have been a while and that he would start nagging at me about it. After a few minutes he grabbed my hair and slapped my face saying that because I hadn’t made any effort recently then he was going to do what he wanted tonight. He then effectively raped me.

I have been reading all the posts on here over the last couple of days and you all seem lovely and supportive to each other and I am hoping that someone can give me some advice on how to break free.

Thank you for taking the time to read this xx

Falling Skys
      Participant

Hi Moonflower1

Well come to the group xx