Tagged: 

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      BirdieD
      Participant

I have been with my husband for (detail removed by moderator) we have three children. Two days ago he hurt in front of my children and something switched on or snapped inside me and I need to do something about it..but is this just anger, will I regret doing something about it? Should I just get on with it not being perfect all of the time?

He has had full control of our finances since (detail removed by moderator). It started with him holding the finances over me reminding me that he was the earner, that has now escalated to him having full financial knowledge and control, I have no idea where or access to any savings even though there are. I have a joint account for food which he checks and questions me regularly and I still have my original bank account that I get child benefit and used to get wages.
      He says I’m not good with money for which there are no debts or debt history for him to have this idea..I can see now he is trying to just make me believe this.
      There have been a few occasions where he has been physically abusive to me pushing, grabbing, shaking or punching a wall. Not hitting me but hurting and deeming me powerless, he is a foot taller and twice my weight. He has done this twice in front of my children. He is generally heavy handed with whoever is nearest and uses fear for control.
      He has secretly messaged other women (detail removed by moderator) and I have sometimes dreamed he’d just meet someone else and leave or have an affair.
      These are only a few examples of the abusive behaviour and of course there is good and happy times too so I’m very sad and confused.
      He is likeable, friendly, easygoing and has tones of friends and family who adore him. He has painted a picture of me being a bossy drama queen and a lady of luxury.
      I have tried to find something of my own by volunteering to which he says (detail removed by moderator)