Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Nefertiti
      Participant

I am really surprised by how calm I am feeling; I have no idea where I will sleep on (detail removed by Moderator) when the friend I am currently staying with goes on holiday and it doesn’t bother me. I will ring the council again on Monday morning and I assume they will sort it out for me. I have no income and am dependent on the charity of my friends until I get Universal Credit but, again, I am not scared or concerned for the future. I know that at some point reality will kick in and it will be unpleasant but at the moment I am feeling detached from it all. Is this normal?

Bananaboat
      Participant

I think it’s very common, I’m no expert but have read things that say we did our crying & grieving before reaching the point of leaving – and boy have we all cried over these relationships. Also you’re very much in survival mode sorting everything out to leave so it may hit down the road. Watch out for the trauma bond tugging at the heart strings. Well done for leaving xx

Dontlikehotweather
      Participant

I would say it’s normal. I felt like this at first. I had a lot of things going on and it’s been (detail removed by Moderator) months now and it’s hit me really in the last two months. There’s no time limit for grief I suppose. Just take it as it comes.

Nefertiti
      Participant

Many thanks to you both.

Hereforhelp
      Participant

I believe this is normal… sort of a disassociation to protect yourself before the next phase.

I am in a similar boat… waiting on homelessness and have been for some months

HFH ❤️

Nefertiti
      Participant

I just feel the need to vent…