Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      bumbum
      Participant

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I have some difficulty writing but hopefully this will make sense. I may ramble a bit but I will avoid to much detail as I don’t want to trigger any one. I do hope that venting here will be beneficial in the end.

I am a survivor. I was abused by various members of my family including both parents and my siblings. This included physical abuse, being punched, pushed and kicked. Verbal abuse, including name calling, emotional manipulation, and belittling. Sexual abuse involving older male siblings (I only accepted this happened this year until then I blamed myself). At one point I was even stalked and received regular death threats.

I put up with this for most my life. Its only since a recent family member passing and severing contact with the rest of them that I have finally been able to get help without them gaslighting me or just abusing me more.

In the past few years have been diagnosed with depression and ptsd. I also have a few other health problems which affect my everyday life. I am currently on benefits and not working while I focus on recovery. I am on medication (anti depressants and anti psychotics) and I have seen various therapists. I have has cbt and basic talking therapies in the past. Unfortunately I cannot afford to see anyone with any regularity so my progress has been somewhat limited.

I guess the point of this post is to see how other survivors cope. What do you do to keep going? Living alone and cutting away family have helped a lot but I still struggle. I often want to hurt myself and think I would be better off dead, rather than living with everything that happened. What if anything helped you move on? What kind of resources are out there to help people like me regain some sense of self worth?

KIP.
      Participant