Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Xyz123
      Participant

Hi

I’m out of the abusive situation I have cut most cords and now I’m left to rebuild a life. I’ve isolated myself I couldn’t help it and now I don’t know how to reconnect with people how to reintegrate myself to society. I want to make new connections as I need the freshness of people who don’t know me this gives me a break from my memories and past

Efcharisto
      Participant

It is awful, I know. And I am glad that forums like this exist so thar we can express these things. You’re not alone in this even though it can seem that way. As for establishing good relationships with PTSD, I’m still learning and struggling with it, especially since I developed most of my local friendships with people who are also friends with or who have contact with my abusive family. That’s what abusive people want: to isolate you and make you more dependent on them. That gives them power. But you’re out of it now. And as far as I understand it, PTSD requires basic retraining of your memory. One of the good ways is distraction. Getting out. Even talking to people in a coffee shop about day-to-day things is a way of leaving the rubbish behind and pushing back. And working environments are good, like finding a project to do with someone where you’re actually working on something new. Learning something new like an evening class or something. It really helps. You’ve got to form new memories of new, kind people, and have fresh experiences to overwrite the trauma that’s still lingering. Hard to do, I know.

KIP.
      Participant