Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      feelingnumb
      Participant

I’m new to this and it’s taken me a lot of self persuasion to actually sign up and post something because I think I always doubt myself and my feelings and at times I think yeah that’s abuse because all my friends say it is and then I think you are just over thinking things. My relationship was great at the start, lots of laughs lots of love, planning for the future, I was on cloud nine. As the months were moving on things would start to change, the arguments would start, name calling, really hurtful statements, and I always ran back begging for forgiveness for my behaviour and my mistakes. But I was always apologising just so I didn’t lose him because I hadn’t actually ever done anything wrong. I would just sit there and get called horrific names and just take it all. It was always my fault. I’d say my confidence is just non existent now, my mental health has totally plummeted, I’ve had depression for some years and now I just feel like I am heading for a breakdown and I’m going to end up in a mental hospital! My partner always pokes fun at me, making fun of me but that’s just his sense of humour but I just feel like I’m the butt of his jokes. He says all the right things, tells me how much he loves me, how I’m his soul mate, how he loves me more than I love him, I love him, I’d do anything for him and I do do anything for him, but I’m always made to feel like I do nothing for him and it’s all one sided. I do doubt myself all the time and even sit and wonder, is it me?? Am I the problem?? Am I the cause for his behaviour?? My friends hate me being with him, they always have. We don’t have any children together and don’t live together. I’ve read these forums and do feel like I can relate to some of the stories, but still find it hard to believe I’m in an abusive relationship? I have been crying my eyes out today because I slightly changed our plans and this has resulted in me being told not to b