Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Soonbefree
      Participant

I have gained so much insight and strength from reading other topics on this forum. Thank you xxxx

This is my first time posting. My husband is emotionally abusive; he is manipulative, controlling and undermining. He has never been physically violent and the abuse has been subtle and slowly progressive, so I didn’t recognise it for what it was until recently. He made me believe I cannot trust my judgment because I am mentally ill and emotionally unstable, I’m a bad mother and can’t look after our child on my own, and I won’t survive financially without him. My husband humiliates and belittles our child and I feel dreadful for not protecting them.

I have planned my way out for myself and my child. I have rented a house and I have a moving date. I will rent a van and my friends will help me move while my husband is at work. I am going to leave a letter from my solicitor. All good so far. The problem is…….

I’m scared! My husband knows I want a divorce but he doesn’t know about my escape plan. He is losing his grip on me, so is stepping up his intimidation, gaslighting and guilt-tripping. Although I will go no-contact for the first few days to give him chance to calm down, I can’t remain no-contact because he has parental responsibility for our child. I also want our child to have the opportunity to have a relationship with their father, if they choose to.

I’m scared that:
      One of us will catch COVID and my moving date will be scuppered
      My husband for some reason won’t go to work on the moving date
      He will take our child
      I will always be frightened of him
      I won’t cope as a single mum
      He will kill himself
      Our child will be emotionally damaged by not having two loving parents

I know it’s all “what ifs” and things outside of my control, but it’s difficult not to worry.