Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      bunsandcakes
      Participant

This morning my son cried and cried because his Dad was driving him into school. He wanted me. My kids are starting to show that they don’t want to be around dad and that is making him more angry and he thinks I am poisoning them against him.

This has hit home, HARD. I now just want to secure a job and try and get out. I dont know where to start, I have no income really and no parents nearby to help with childcare as I have one child under school age. His business is based at the home so I would go. I would own half the house though. I really need to talk through my support options with someone as I have no savings to start renting immediately.

mixed-up mum
      Participant

Hiya Bunsandcakes – remind me, are you being supported by Women’s Aid?
      If you are they will help and advise you.

I’m not good at finding out about benefits, but they would know what you would get.

Would you accept a council house?
      I live in a council house, and a love my little home. A home is not the house – a home is what you make it.

There are other ladies on here who are much better at telling you what help there is, but I expect that being in an abusive relationship, and fleeing the family home, with young children would help you get a house.
      You would get help with rent and council tax, and what about tax credits, you could try for that too.

Sorry your son was so upset today, its not nice seeing your kids cry, and want you, and dad won’t ‘allow’ it.

Kids pick up on way more than we know, and they will know daddy is grumpy, and moody and shouts at them, they will pick up on you being upset, and its things like that which make them not want to be with Daddy.

My ex acceused me of turning the kids against him too, but mine were big enough and old enough to see themselves what was happening.
      My daughter was especially protective of me and tried to keep me safe, and keep him away from me.