Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Halo
      Participant

I’m new to this today and feel like I’m in a very controlling relationship though my partner feels different. I have no control over Money even though I work aswell and plenty more things I could mention. This is the first time I have brought up how I am feeling to anyone so apologies if I am not getting it right .

KIP.
      Participant

Hello and welcome. No need to apologise. It’s definitely wrong that you don’t have control of your own money. It’s very common for abusers to do this. Take a look at Living with the Dominator by Pat Craven. Why Does He Do That by Lundy Bancroft. Both are about abusive men. It was a real eye opener for me. There is also a national domestic abuse helpline which is great to talk to someone and a chat facility on this forum. It’s difficult to talk about abuse so well done. Abusers control us often through fear, obligation and guilt.

Lisa
      Main Moderator

Hi Halo

Thank you for your post and welcome to the forum! I hope you find the forum a supportive place to be, and that you can start to open up more once you feel comfortable to.

You have done really well to reach out and post on here for the first time. It sounds like your partner is financially abusive and controlling, you don’t deserve to be treated like this.

If you feel like you are in need of some additional support, you could chat to a Women’s Aid worker in confidence via our Live Chat service (open 10am-6pm every day). They won’t tell you what to do, but can discuss your situation and signpost you to other support that’s relevant for you. You can access the chat
      service here: https://chat.womensaid.org.uk/

Do keep posting to let us know how you’re getting on.

Best wishes,

Lisa

Eggshells
      Participant

Hi Halo

I echo what KIP and Lisa have already said. I just wanted to say welcome to the forum.