Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Yearslater
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this. I wasn’t sure this was the right place, but with lockdown and everything I don’t know where else to go. I was in a relationship when I was relatively young, my first proper one and whom took my virginity. It started off just a few slaps and grabs and it got worse & the bruises got harder to hide. He made me hate my body, and I still do, I feel like I’m a burden to everybody and I’m so scared that I’ll never get my confidence back. After 2 ish years, I got out when it threatened to ruin my relationships with my family. It’s been (detail removed by moderator) and I’m in a new, amazing relationship but I struggle everyday. The nightmares are awful, the flashbacks often leave me with suicidal thoughts and I’m going through this alone. My family knew little about it, my mum only found out when I got drunk one night. When I was a child it was always easier to get help, but being an adult now I feel as though I have to keep it together. I can’t sleep most nights, I have nobody to talk to and I never got to share my story. I’m angry at the those who let knew about it but did not help me and I know I have no right to be. I’m angry that he got to move on with his life and I’m still stuck here thinking about it nearly everyday. I’m so happy in my relationship but the memories are killing me. How do I get rid of the nightmares and actually have a decent night sleep? How do I move on, even though it’s been (detail removed by moderator) years!

KIP.
      Participant