Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Camelia Daisy
      Participant

I’m new to this so please bare with me!

I’m really struggling at the moment with how to deal with effects of many years of controlling behavior towards me. I am divorced and have been for a while but due to out children together he hasn’t let up.

It’s got to a point where (detail removed by moderator) he is asking for shared care, he already has half the holidays, weekdays and alternate weekends, so there’s no real reason other than putting me back in my place.

For many years he has kept tabs on me, even since our split. He has made accusations about to professionals, teachers, friends and pretty much anyone who will listen. They are completely untrue and really derogatory, which has led me to feel very isolated. I used to love getting involved in community events, my children’s school and socializing. Now I stand on my own in the school playground away from everyone not speaking. I don’t get involved in school projects because I’m scared he will accuse me of trying to get people on my side and cause trouble for me or the children. I’m also to embarrassed as I know he has said terrible things to people and I feel too self conscious.

He nit picks about everything I do, like he just can’t wait for me to mess up, forget a school event, be late. It feels like I’m being monitored and I’m terrified of getting anything wrong. It’s absolutely exhausting. He makes remarks about me to the children, twists their words and uses them as a way to get to me. He threatens me with court every time I disagree with him or just completely ignores my opinion as though it is completely irrelevant.