Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Day 4 since he left. Starting to feel joy again.

The freedom feels strange to me. But then it will do, I’ve spent years checking nothing I did could inflame my ex, or give him any excuse to hurt us. (He did anyway, of course, over and over.)

36 hours since he owned up to what he’s done. Says he sees it all, every bad thing he’s done, flashing across his mind like a cinema reel which he cannot stop. Good. I hope it keeps playing awhile, wouldn’t want him to miss a bit!

Ditto since he apologised for the things he’s done to us. Took a while during the conversation for him to move from sorrow for himself to sorrow for us! I also noticed how much easier he found it to apologise for what he’s done to my children than what he’s done to me.

I have been using the mantra ‘Be Nice Or Leave’ to him for several years. Like lots of you, I’ve been catching each incidence of abuse, flagging it to him and me, agreeing with him that would be the last time (I can’t count how many ‘last times’ I allowed him!)

I have become a master at this! There must be a better use for my skills and talents. VSO or fostering, maybe, one day – not yet. I want to enjoy my freedom before I start another giving project 🙂 (I am so proud of myself for saying ‘want to’. I never do what I want to. Well, I do now!)

My OMG moment is this. It’s only this morning I have actually heard and felt the true (there is no suitable adjective I can think of ATM, so I’ll use this one) awfulness of what he’s done *and* what I allowed him to do.

I think I’ve avoided this moment, and I think that might be because I was scared I wouldn’t cope with taking full responsibility for my part in allowing it to go on.

But I don’t mind. I feel OK. I thought I would feel bad and beat myself up about it, but I’m not. I just don’t need to.

Peace and joy, two things I never expected – even hoped – to experience, have arrived today.

Much love Sxx

Peaceful Pig