Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      ZPefsJ
      Participant

I am struggling to leave a relationship that I have been in for a long time. I lack self-confidence, believing that I can’t survive on my own but knowing deep down that I need to leave. A lot of the time I live on eggshells, wondering when he will next become angry. Each time he does, it crushes me a little bit more. I have tried to explain how I feel, but he either gets angry or laughs. I know from experience that if I do leave, he can act like a ‘little boy lost’ and this makes me feel so guilty and ultimately, I stay because of it. I know his behaviour is controlling but I feel overwhelmed by the enormity of leaving. I feel trapped in a relationship that makes me so unhappy.

I have read many posts on this forum recently, but I am new to this and have never posted before. Any advice from people who have experienced a similar situation would be most welcome.

Camel
      Participant

Welcome to the forum. Everyone here will understand how you feel. While everyone has a different story to tell they follow the same script.

You will cope on your own. Your partner will never take responsibility or care how you feel or what you think. Your feelings of guilt are standard but misplaced. He hasn’t earned them.

Ladyluce
        Participant