Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      IWillSurvive
      Participant

Hello. Newbie here. Left an emotionally abusive relationship fairly recently and have been feeling MUCH better for getting out and being away from it all and not having to live with it any more. But the past few weeks have been increasingly tough. Feels like I’m starting to let go of the walls I’d built and the feelings I’d shut down and I don’t think I’d consciously realised how much I had been doing both those things or for how long. Seems like the world is full of triggers now and I’m overly sensitive to many things and getting not-quite-flashbacks but very strong reminders of things I thought I’d dealt with. I figure this is all part of the healing and recovery process – I have to go through it, open it all up and let it out, to come out the other side. But this week has been particularly tough and I’ve had several big crying jags and felt ambushed by overwhelming responses to things I wasn’t expecting to trigger so much baggage. I have wonderful support from friends and many folk who’ve been through divorce and tell me it does get easier, but I really feel like I need someone to tell me from the other side of an emotionally abusive relationship that yes, we can get through it and past it and put it to rest, get some closure and acceptance and move forwards. I am not doing the no contact thing I’ve read about, as he’s not a threat to me or the kids, I’m strong enough now to stand up to his ongoing attempts to control me, and he is actually stepping up and improving his relationship with the kids now and I want them to rebuild that bond, it’s important to me. I don’t need him out of my life completely because we do need to coparent effectively, but that seems to be settling into a routine and kind of more of a businesslike relationship. I just need him out of my head and my heart. I need to get all the baggage unpacked and processed and sorted where it belongs, in the past. And I know it ta