Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hello lovelies I hope you are all doing as well as can be! I’m just wondering is it possible to get PTSD after leaving an abusive relationship. I’m often finding myself having nightmares about him, jumping when I hear his name, I panic when I hear loud noises and go into shut down mode crying & feeling sick because the loud noises creates these flashbacks where I’m back with him and he’s banging around the house when he’s mad and in a mood. Someone came up behind me and touched my arm and I jumped shouted get off me because I instantly thought it was him even though I know it can’t be as he’s in prison but I started shaking and feeling sick because it was like he was grabbing me and hurting me all over again. I’m just wondering if this is PTSD and have any of you ever experienced the same?

NeverGiveUp1
      Participant

Hi there!
      I’m new to this and yet to put my own story up but yes you will have PTSD by the sounds of it and it’s more than possible. I have been diagnosed With this too after leaving my abusive ex in (detail removed by moderator), I have nightmares every night, mainly about him – or if it’s not him it’s the same scenario , someone trying to get me or get into my house (he did this).
      I’m regularly irritated, I’ve walked out of three jobs because of my own bad temper which I seem to have gotten since all his. I’m constantly on high defence alert, which can make me very short, abrupt etc. I’m waiting for therapy because I won’t let him ruin my future.

NeverGiveUp1
      Participant

Also, I too get the loud noise thing… I get an instant adrenaline rush when there’s a loud bang, legs like jelly shaking etc… once someone knocked at my door and I got really scared and panicky but it was just the delivery man. It’s a horrible experience to go through but you’re not alone x

Iwantmeback
      Participant