Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Balloons
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this and a bit nervous about posting. I managed to separate from my husband (detail removed by moderator) ago after he had been mentally and emotionally abusive. He was very clever and never showed anyone else how manipulative he was and has always been a victim, spreading lies about me and always twisting the truth. Over the last few weeks things have got worse again. Hes been threatening to come to the house and take our (detail removed by moderator) year old sons away from me, and I ended up calling the police I was so scared. They took a statement from me, and have now recorded a crime of coercive and controlling behaviour. They told me that the next step is for me to give a full victims statement, then they would interview him and send it to the courts to decide what to do next. Once I give this statement it will be out of my hands and I cant change my mind and it might mean going to court and having to defend myself against him and all his lies. This really scares me. I fluctuate between thinking that I should do it, to finally put an end to it all and to hopefully stop his controlling tirades (even though we dont live together he still tries to control me through the children). I sometimes feel like I’ve just had enough of it all and I want to take action and make a stand against this kind of behaviour. But then I just feel tired by it all, and taking it further with the police feels like dragging it all out even longer. There is still a part of me that still feels sorry for him too, and very sad that this is where my life has ended up. I really believed he was the one I was going to spend my life with.