Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Escapee
      Participant

I need to scream ladies!

I have wrestled with myself all f’ing day! I am so low all I want to do is talk to him but I know that I mustn’t – it’s absolutely the worst thing I can do. I know it’s my brain craving the dopamine of the push-pull and the trauma bond – it is driving me nuts!!
      Then there’s the triggers – I’m just learning about these and heavens! it’s like an electric shock that makes the bells toll!
      So I try to be positive and think about my future only to realise the b*****d has managed to warp everything. He was also supportive of me doing things but then he’d sabotage it to the point that I stopped wanting to do anything. He has taken everything I love to do away from me and this realisation has made me so angry!

So here I am; caught in this cycle of needing him to make the pain go away but knowing he has pretty much destroyed me.

I would apologise for bringing you down with me but that’s another thing he always made me do – apologise for everything!

Please accept my love instead xx

KIP.
      Participant

After an initial period of euphoria, my emotions went haywire. When I felt safe, my brain then had The headspace to work through the trauma I’d been suppressing. As you begin to heal and work out exactly what has been done to you. There will be very many mixed emotions. Contacting the cause of your distress won’t help long term. I was diagnosed with PTSD so my senses were heightened by anxiety. Loud noises and bright lights were too much for a while. It’s a horrible phase we need to go through to heal. If you can get some good therapy to help you cope and have a safety net in place for when you need it. Abusers make us dependent on them. They push us off a Cliff then rescue us. Mind blowing brain washing. Things will slowly get better. Just be kind to yourself meantime. Write a letter to him but don’t send it. Get it all down in writing, out of your head x

Escapee