Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Sleepy
      Participant

I seem to be really struggling at the moment, no sooner do I take a step forward then everything quickly clouds over again. Do other people find this?

Also I have this feeling I ‘lost’ something when I was raped but don’t know what I lost. It’s really bugging me at the moment.

Stuck here
      Participant

Hi sleepy,

I’m by no means an experienced person to be answering this for you. I’m sure there’s many others on here who can be a lot more helpful. I’m still relatively new to all this and finding my way around. But yes I often feel I’m getting somewhere and making progress and then end up right back where I was or in a worse position.

As for having “lost” something when you were raped. I get what you’re saying, it’s strange, almost like you just don’t feel like you anymore. Something has been taken from you. I personally, don’t like people touching me anymore. Before I would have been a very huggy person.

I hope someone more experienced comes along soon. Just wanted to say hi 😊

KIP.
      Participant

Trauma can leave us feeling dislocated from reality. Have you have some trauma counselling or spoke to someone about the rape? And yes, recovery is a real rollercoaster so just take baby steps and be kind to yourself. The Body Keeps The Score is a good book about trauma x

Anonymous
      Inactive