Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      starqueen
      Participant

Hi, has anyone told their employer they’re a survivor? I’m in my first job after having cut off contact with my abusive family member (who is dead now so I’m safe). I was a mature student and now I’m in a job after completing my studies. Nobody in my department or team knows that I’m a survivor or that I’ve been through any kind of abuse or trauma. Since we came back from the Christmas break I’ve found that I get a bit more triggered than normal. I’m not sure what work could do to support me, I don’t know what kind of support is out there at work for survivors. I think I’m just aware now in a way that I wasn’t before that I’ve not got the same experience as others, and I wonder if it’s fair to myself to carry on as if nothing happened when I know that it did. Hopefully this makes sense! Any experiences or suggestions would be good to hear.

Daisy Fairydust
      Participant

Hi starqueen
      I think really it’s up to you if you want to speak to someone at work about it, perhaps there’s someone there you trust but you’re under no obligation.
      Depending on your employer/company they may be able to offer some form of counselling service that could help.
      Personally, I felt I had to tell my employer, I was trapped with my abuser both working from home because of the pandemic. I’d reached peak with it all, had just started to reach out to women’s aid etc and didn’t want my work impacted by what I was dealing with at home.