Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Serenity
      Participant

This post might sound a bit flippant, but truly it’s not.

I have realised I haven’t bought tomatoes since he left.

I’ve completely lost my taste for them.

This is because one of the things that my ex was hung up about was being served the right kind of tomato. It had to be ripe and the correct colour.

If I served him one that wasn’t to his taste, it was enough for him to launch into a tirade about how this country had rubbish food, that I was serving him tasteless food. It was enough for him to almost combust with anger, and he’d be in a bad temper the whole evening. I would be punished somehow.

He was always putting down my cooking, yet everyone else says I am a good cook. Even if I hadn’t been, how dare he feel entitled to rage against me like that.

No, I’ve well and truly gone off tomatoes! Funny how things affect you x

iwillbeok
      Participant

Hi Serenity, your post did bring a little smile to my face.

There’s a few things I either no longer do and others that I now get enjoyment from, now that I’m free of him. I think the strangest one for me is wearing a belt! He would rant (in a weird I’m joking but I’m serious kind of way!) about how he couldn’t stand it when people wore jeans with no belt. I took to wearing longer tops and would purposely not wear one! Now I’m back to wearing a belt again, or not if I couldn’t be bothered…

Also I hated gin & tonic when I was with him (realise now it was because he made them so darn strong!). Now its my preferred drink when out…

X

KIP.
      Participant