Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      undertherainbow
      Participant

Hello to anyone reading this, I’m new to signing up. I’m going to try and be careful with what I say as I’m very paranoid about what I can and can’t say.
      My ex is currently in prison awaiting trial. (Detail removed by moderator). This means it all has to go to trial. Has anyone been through this? I’m not sure how to deal with it. I considered retracting everything but need to stand up to him and show him that I do not accept his behaviour. He tried to kill me and was arrested on attempted murder so this has been hell, I
      I’m lucky to be alive but don’t feel it. Some days I wish he’d managed it. I know court is going to be tough and the police have told me to expect it to be really hard going.
      I guess I’m just looking for anyone who’s been in the situation or can offer any advice. Love to all survivors and those going through a dark time at the moment and thanks again for reading. I’m just a bit of a mess at the moment. XXXX

Ayanna
      Participant

I escaped death too.
      Until today I do not feel like a survivor.
      Rape is a difficult one. They are horrible in court and often the abuser goes free.
      Male entitled patriarchy has no consideration for the suffering that women go through in domestic abuse.
      Be prepared for the patriarchy. We are only in the beginning stages of better legislation because suffragettes lost their lives for us. Never forget the women who fought for us to be where we are now. And it is just a little piece of the cake that we get. Males still kept the bigger part of it.
      By all means do not be afraid. It is just patriarchy, built on abuse.
      Stand up to them in the court. Whater those lawyers say who defend him, show them your truth.
      Which lawyer would defend an abuser if they were not abusers themselves. Have no fear.
      Be a victorious proud woman xxxx

Lisa
      Main Moderator

Hi undertherainbow,