Tagged: ,

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      tulip-mama
      Participant

Hi, newbie here, though I have been reading the forum for a while. I didn’t think I would ever get to the point where I was genuinely considering leaving (emotionally abusive husband) but something has clicked and I just know I need to get out.

But I’m so scared! I don’t know whether he will react angrily or sadly, or how reasonable he will be about property or custody.

I also am a bit worried about how to actually do it! I have a bag of essentials for me and my son packed and hidden. I know where I would like to go but lockdown is making me so unsure!

I want to go to a refuge in a town that I used to live in, where I have a good support network of friends, but I don’t know if they would let me, given that I’m no longer local. I also don’t know how I would get a place – I tried ringing the national helpline this morning but they were so busy I couldn’t get through. I know I could ask them to ring back but there isn’t really a safe time to give them now we’re at home all the time. I don’t want to just leave the house without somewhere confirmed to go, because I have a child to think about.

Also,do I just sneak out? Do I tell him I’m going and then get in the car? If I sneak out, should I leave a simple note, explaining that I’ve left (so that he doesn’t start ringing me to ask where I am)?

I’m so confused and scared because I just want to get mine and my child’s life on track!

fizzylem
      Participant

Hey TM, you could google the local domestic abuse service, the number is usually on the local council’s website. Maybe have a look for the one in your area first, call and ask them if they could arrange a place in this new area? Suspect they will want you to access the service linked to your current postcode.