Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Ayanna
      Participant

I wrote stories, pages and pages of handwritten stories about ordinary people who achieved great things. I lived in this world of fantasy. I was the persons in my stories.
      I was detached from reality. I slipped through life somehow. That made the abuse I suffered in real life bearable and it kept me sane.
      I was a brilliant student and I was as strong as the characters in my stories.
      When I left home I did not write anymore. Somehow the connection between my life and the fantasy got lost.
      That was the time when I began to have anxiety attacks, when I had signs of PTSD.
      There was no help, the story of my life.
      I digged deep into psychology and psychiatry and explored my mind.
      I was lucky to meet an old man, who became a father figure and who talked to me for several years. I became almost myself.
      Tonight I think of this old wise man again. He disappeared from my life when I met a significant man and he disapproved of him. He was right and I did not listen, no, I knew better … so I thought and was wrong.
      All this happened a very long time ago.
      I wish I were able to write stories again, to empower myself with fantasy. I have lost that ability. All I see is a cold, plain world with heartless people.

Serenity
      Participant

Hi Ayanna,

I can understand the temptation and lure of slipping into fantasy. I think I can be like that. It is my protection mechanism, and my chance to dip into an ideal world.

Dreaming and fantasising is good, in that it puts us in touch with our deepest desires. It can be a comfort thing, too.

But I have been thinking how, the more we exist in that world, the more of a gap there is between our real life and the ideal. We spend our energies dreaming and yearning, and our own life suffers from a lack
      Of brave and concrete effort to make our ideals a reality.