Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Keepbeingbrave
      Participant

Hi, this is my first time on here. In fact this is the first time I’ve told my story to anyone at all actually.
      I’ve been with my partner for months now. And I’m ashamed to admit that he has been abusing me for  of those.
      Physical, mental and controlling abuse are part of everyday life for me now.
      I’m posting finally for a reason. He hit me so hard a few days ago twice across my face I had earache in both ears for 2 days afterwards. I would love to be able to say that he is the sort of man who even apologises for his behaviour. But no. It was my fault, I made him do it, I pushed him to it as usual. But for some reason, something small changed in my brain this time and I swore to myself the next time he hit me would 100% be the last. I’ve found myself struggling more and more now. I am feeling so low, so worthless. Wondering what it is that I’ve done so wrong to deserve this. He tells me he wasn’t like this with his previous partner. He says he never raised his hand to her once in (detail removed by moderator) years. So I’m left thinking why me? So often after such a short time? He doesn’t accept any responsibility for his actions at all. He behaves however he feels fit, and I’m the one who doesn’t see my friends anymore (he hates them) I’ve been made to remove people off Facebook) I dress differently now to keep him happy, I also don’t dye my hair etc to keep him sweet. I know that everything I am telling you screams out ‘leave, get out!’ If another women was telling me this stuff I would be terrified for her. I’m not terrified anymore, I’m numb to it now. I’m ashamed at myself rather than him. He is only doing it because I allow him to.
      I have convinced myself that the next time will be the last, and I’m sure I won’t have to wait too long until the next time.