Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Three Little Birds
      Participant

Hi Everyone
      It is my first time here and I`m sorry I wrote an “essay” below, but I needed to vent and tell my story, even if it is not as bad as some of yours. Any encouraging comment, advice would be welcome. Thank you for your support in advance.
      I know I’m in an emotionally abusive marriage, but every time I’m deciding to leave, by the time I could have arranged something to move out, I calm down (he plays the victim and starts the love bombing and promise everything), I start to doubt my decision and I back down. I feel stuck.
      I’ve been to therapy a few times, where I was reassured that the things my husband was doing with me is not normal or acceptable. It would be great to have further therapy sessions, but the cost of therapy is really high and if I ever want to get out, I need to save up money. Its a catch 22. And to be honest, I dont know how therapy could help me any further, as last time with the therapist we established that I decided that I needed to go so we were focusing on what’s holding me back. At that point it was that I felt sorry for my husband. So she explained to me (with my own words that I said to her previously) that your husband is not happy, he wants his “old” wife back, but you can’t be that wife again, as all the hurt he has done during the years has changed you. So in long term would it be not better for your husband as well if you guys went apart? And I agree. So the next step is that I actually do it. She said you made the decision, you understand that it would be better for your husband as well, so its on you now. She feels that she cant really help more. She is happy to have more sessions, but she can pretty much just repeat the things we already said. But if I want to talk/vent by all means, she is more than happy to carry on with the sessions. Of course, I don’t have money to throw away, just so I can vent.